The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

Cemetery Gossip

dcjj -201411149104

One of the problems of having been in the same city for so long is that on photo safaris it is easy to end up in  a place you have already been. On Friday, as I was wandering around enjoying the wonderful Autumn light, I found myself in Aoyama Cemetery again.

I was last there about six or seven years ago and the views, as you would expect of a cemetery, had not changed that much. One advantage of being in Tokyo though is that it is never really boring and there are always new pictures to find if you look. As I walked around looking for something I had not seen before I found these two monks talking in the cemetery temple. I didn’t get too close preferring not to disturb them and shot from a distance with the shrine roof and doorway providing a frame for them.

Nice little encounter on a short but magically lit day out.

Busy at the moment, more later.

Damon

Leave a Reply

