The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

It’s Beer O’Clock

That famous call at the end of the working day; the celebration of the freedom that needs some form of alcoholic lubricant to be truly liberating.

Of course for some of us beer is work.

Went along to Yokohama‘s Oktoberfest at the red brick warehouse last night. This is the third time I’ve been to this Japanese version of the famous Munich beer festival. but last night was the first time I could actually relax and enjoy it. Last night I wasn’t working, I had a free evening so took the wife and kids down for some bratwurst and originally flavoured beers.

Yummy!

Getting a place to sit might be the most difficult part of the evening but if you can snag some space at the tables there are many fantastic European and local beers to try and some great food.

Of course I had to take a few pictures but due to my kids being rather to small to relax in the throng, my photo walk was limited to a few minutes mixing with the energetic bonhomie like above. It is not difficult to make friends at Oktoberfest and though I have a few other jobs on this week, I do hope to get back to Yokohama and take some more shots of the people enjoying this wonderful festival.

Talk later

Damon

3 responses

  1. I love watching pros work. Love the photo.

    October 7, 2012 at 2:16 am

  2. itllallendintears

    Have you read ‘Three Sheets to the Wind’ by Pete Brown? (http://www.amazon.co.jp/Three-Sheets-Wind-Quest-Meaning/dp/0330442473/)

    Recommended to me by Hern42, and was well worth the journey.

    October 7, 2012 at 11:32 am

  3. Thanks Dan

    October 8, 2012 at 8:30 am

Leave a Reply

