The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

Washing Away Your Cares

The weather is fetid. The ragged tendrils of Typhoon Samba wringing-out  squalls and cloud bursts of surreal origins from a sky that is by turns both gloriously clear  and evil-tempered with its claustrophobia. Rain falls from cloudless skies one minute and  clouds boil up and glower of storms that do not come next. It’s interesting.

Hopefully this all means an end to the summer heat at last. A busy Autumn ahead, would like to carry less T-shirts around on my photo trips. At the moment I am sweating through 3 or 4 a day.

Exhausted but enjoying some time out to shoot and work on stories and think of other ideas. Also meeting up with some friends for a drink when possible.

One of those stories is of course the Sugamo, old lady town, story that has been a constant here for me over the years. Though Japan‘s ageing society has been in the news on and off for years and my collection of Sugamo images has proved surprisingly profitable I never seem to get quite the end to the story I want. Indeed I have not been there for a while in the hope that I would fin again some of the interest I had on my first visit or perhaps an angle or aside that I could explore with some fresh or at the least, rested eyes. End up just re-photographing the Arai Kannon statue at Toganji Temple (above) where people go to wash away their aches and pains.

Never mind, quite a nice day out in its own right, and you never know who you’ll meet there. Will be back sooner than later probably.

Take care

Damon

Leave a Reply

