The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

School Days

The above image took over thirty minutes to get.

I wish I could do that these days when most jobs give the photographer a few minutes at most.

I was trekking in the Annapurna Himalaya in 1995 and passed this school building, which was beautifully carved, when this little boy looked out of the window. Obviously he was enjoying his lessons as he soon turned his attention to the teacher again. But he had looked so good in the window, and this was in a time when I was free of time pressures and well anything that wasn’t exactly what I felt like doing so instead of trekking on, I waited until he looked out again. This he did about thirty minutes later, a quick look first that caught sight of me but was too fast to shoot followed by a second, steadier look a few minutes later when, seeing I was still there waiting with camera ready, caused this huge infectious grin to take over his face.

No reason to put this picture up at all other than I like it.

Actually feel a bit stir crazy in the city of late too and wishing I could be out walking around some mountains again. This images also reminds me of those free-booting days.

Later

Damon

2 responses

  1. Ah for those free wheeling days brother……….

    February 22, 2012 at 10:20 am

  2. Pingback: Wanderings « sungypsy blog

Leave a Reply

