The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

Mount Fuji

Mount Fuji proving popular on stock sales as always. There are a lot of great images of this most amazing mountain out there, but my small collection of climbing shots is still regularly bringing in a extra little cash.

It is difficult to take a bad picture of this peak of course, especially at this time of year when the snow blankets the peak in freshness and sharp, sparkling aloofness.

Definitely one of my favourite mountains in the world and luckily I live within sighe of it. Not exactly from my house unfortunately, but a short walk to the local park and there it looms: far, distant and mostly obscured my other peaks and suburban skyscrapers to be true but still magically speaking of altitude and adventure.

Climbed it twice now (which officially makes me an fool apparently) the best ascent by far was the first time however, out of season, uncrowded and just my good friend, Paul Deegan and myself slogging around the crater rim with views of hundreds of kilometres in every direction.

Read my report in the British Mountaineering Council’s Summit Magazine here:

Fond memories.

Later

Damon

See more images of Mount Fuji at my photoshelter archive here:

4 responses

  1. damon. beautiful images ! enjoyed your photoshelter images ! oct ! WOW !

    December 15, 2011 at 6:49 am

  2. Thanks Cory, yes it was cold in October but so beautiful.

    December 15, 2011 at 7:25 am

  3. Great Pic!
    just read the report on the BMC too.
    excellent stuff.

    December 15, 2011 at 10:22 am

  4. Thanks Adrian, hope to catch up before I leave for Xmas but looking a bit rushed. If I don’t see you have a great one. Damon

    December 15, 2011 at 10:01 pm

Leave a Reply

