The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

Seeing Red

Luckily I had a free evening last night so could rush down to Yasukuni Shrine after work to catch the wonderful Mitama matsuri of remembrance. This is one of my favourite Japanese festivals, it is so beautiful.

Having been to it a number of times and taken quite good pictures of the mitama matsuri before, it was perhaps foolish to think I could get that same initial energy back. Because  even though the festival  is visually stunning and I love it I just couldn’t get excited by the pictures I was taking this time. What I was most looking forward to shooting was the freak show theatre again however as I knew I could get better pictures than last year. The show was good, prettier girls and less freakish this time but also less photographs as, unlike last year, photography wasn’t allowed. This is the last picture I got of the snake eating lady before I was told “No Cameras!”

Why is everything suddenly getting impossible to shoot.
Bugger
Damon

2 responses

  1. Ah so thats why you called……
    Sounds like the ‘no camera’ disease has affected even obvious exhibitionists now. shame.

    July 14, 2010 at 3:20 pm

  2. Hi Damon,

    I never even knew there was a freak show at the mitama matsuri. I didn’t have time to go down this year and see the matsuri, think I had enough good stock images from last year anyway. Not done much in the way of matsuri’s this year actually. Maybe I’ll get to some over the summer.

    Hope all is well with you.

    Cheers

    Will

    July 16, 2010 at 7:11 pm

Leave a Reply

