The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

The competition

 

Shuhei Yoshida president of Sony Computer entertainment

 

Nice little job last week for an American magazine on gaming, I`m not a gamer, never have been, but I understand it is big business and I know the names of the main players in the market. I had to photograph Shuhei Yoshida, the chairman of Sony Computer Entertainment Inc. and basically the boss and one of the brains behind Playstation.

Scary!

Well yes and no: Yoshida san would be my kind of boss, he worked his way up to the position, he seems relaxed and open and, best of all, he doesn`t wear a tie. Though I only had about eight minutes to photograph him he was easy to talk too, introduced himself with his first name and went where ever I asked him to. Of course he is not a celebrity and as such is not overly comfortable having a camera pointed at him. The office while nominally colourful was rather bereft of logos and interest for a classic corporate portrait so I decided to go in tight and if you do that you know people are going to look tense and crowded.

So before the shot I did my research: googled him, checked his twitter stream and looked at other interviews with him to find something to talk about from my very humble position as a photographer. I found out he has two kids and as I shot with the glass walls behind, the colourful(ish) chairs muted in the gloom of the subtle lighting and the large windows with their dark, looming offices across the road cutting out all light I mentioned to him that his kids must think themselves the luckiest children in the world because their dad runs playstation. He smiled and mentioned that they were a bit young really only into ipets and toys as yet.

Asking me if I had kids I said I did and my eldest is just getting into gaming. He smiled at that and I pressed the shutter.

“Yes,” I continued. “He really loves games, always plays on the computer when I let him.”

Smiles and shutters.

“Actually, he really wants a Nintendo Wii.”

Yoshida San laughed, I pressed the shutter and got the shot.

A good day.

More stock images of Shuhei Yoshida, president of Sony Computer Entertainment Inc at my archive here:

Damon

 

7 responses

  1. Andy

    Brilliant!!

    January 29, 2010 at 5:12 pm

  2. Nice portrait you got, good story about how you got him to laugh for the shot too. You’re lucky he’s a nice friendly chap, I imagine with the joke about your son wanting the rivals product could get you marched off the premises by security in some other places 😉

    January 30, 2010 at 12:14 am

  3. LOL……..at the Wii comment 😉

    Nice work, 8 minutes is plenty of time.

    January 30, 2010 at 12:25 am

  4. Yes i wouldn`t have said it if i didn`t think I could, but I`d read in the researchI did that unlike his predecessor he has actually gone on record to say the Nintendo is a good machine. He`s a busy man an all this was very inconvenient for him so I wanted to make it as relaxing as possible. Luckily he is a nice man so it was easy.
    Damon

    January 30, 2010 at 3:37 am

  5. Tomo

    Terrific Job! Perfect shot with perfect tactics. Actually, Wii is fun and good for family very much indeed, compared to other games. Especially, Wii sports, which is a game running on Wii, is easy to play even if you haven’t play games before. We are in the game age. I found gaming is successly spreading over in Europe as well. Lots of children are playing PSP or Nintendo DS even in London.
    I love games and spent very much time in the past but I think children shouldn’t spend too much time on gaming and play with the others in a real life. I think gaming is partly useful for communication but can make a sense of creativity inactive. It’s important for them to do something with their hands.
    I’d love to see your sons soon again. I’m sure they are very talented and growing up very well.

    February 2, 2010 at 7:47 am

  6. Mya

    great story !!
    congrats on your work!!

    February 12, 2010 at 2:00 pm

  7. Pingback: Name Dropping « sungypsy blog

Leave a Reply

