The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

The Days in Japan


Days Japan magazine along with Waseda University are holding a festival of photojournalism from today until December 5th. There will be a special slideshow of photojournalism images taken by foreign residents in Japan showing on the 26th.

I don`t know who exactly is showing pictures there, I know I`m not having somehow missed the deadline for the call for images but I do know that the supremely talent James Whitlow Delano will have a collection of images of Japan`s homeless on show. Homeless pictures are almost a cliche of photojournalism, and the ironic jucstapostion of Japan`s great invisible homelessness problem against the usual and equally stereotypical images of modern metropolises and conspicuous wealth is hard to do originally, but knowing James I`m sure his photos will be stark and surprising; and that makes this event, essential viewing. I only hope I can attend.

Anyway go along to the facebook page here and sign up if you can make it or go and see the exhibition anytime.

Ckiches aside I also have stock images of Japan’s homeless at my archive here:

Damon

4 responses

  1. The bad thing about living in the country side is that you miss all this festivals and exhibitions … but there are also a lot of good things too …

    I´ve just posted on my diary a slideshow with my favorite photos of my first year in Japan , time is going so fast !

    November 22, 2009 at 12:04 pm

  2. Hi Damon

    I’ll be there too with my pictures of the elections campaign. Hope to see you there!

    Jeremie

    November 22, 2009 at 3:34 pm

  3. Jeremie, Long time no see, yes it will be good to catch up, I may be late as i have to work until 6 near Yokohama and the event starts at 6:30 but should be there.
    Alex, the good thing about living in the country is the pace of life that allows you to take the wonderful pictures you do, True we have all this happening here but I often don`t get time to do or enjoy the events. I missed the call to provide entries for example, I have recently missed the deadline on two competitions due to life and familay pressures using up my time. It is hard to fit it all in. I kinda envy you the country!
    Anyway talk soon
    Damon

    November 23, 2009 at 3:26 am

  4. Hi Damon,

    Heard about the show in Waseda earlier on this week, can’t make the talk tonight (26th) but will try to get down to it this weekend I reckon.

    Also, there is a great show on at the Zen photo gallery in Sjibuya just now. B&W images from Tibet by Yang Zangyang (I could well have made a mistake with the name, if you google to gallery you will get the info). The curator, Mark Pearson is a thoroughly nice guy as well. Small space, but brilliant work and free entry.

    Cheers

    November 25, 2009 at 10:50 pm

Leave a Reply

