The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

Slow Down

dcjj085857

I have not been here for a while now … wow! was it this big when I left a week or so ago? Was that wall always that colour? Didn`t  Andy used to have a beard? Haven`t you found someone to take that away for you yet?

Amazing what you miss and how unfamiliar things seem when you haven`t visited them for while, but I digress, I have been occupied with all that`s unfamiliar: running here and there, especially there, on a typical Japanese holiday to a hot spring spa (ideally relaxing but actually too rushed and just left me feeling wet). I have had a couple of photo jobs with briefs coming at the last minutes, and late ones at those, where I needed to find models at midnight and motivation the next day after not enough sleep and on white sky days in Tokyo`s empty rich quarters (dull and it shows in the pictures unfortunately). I have needed to fix printers, get archiving in several places, sort submissions to several places more, keyword and caption images I should have done a long time ago; sort, edit, write, rewrite, proof-read, plan, scheme, invoice and negotiate fees to start with; I had to teach, be taught, download, upload, sort, contact, meet ,drink and be merry with friends, play football with sons, be a brother, husband, a son and father and worry about the environment in an artistic way for a photo competition.  I have , in a word, been BUSY!!!

So it is good to see that slow living is coming to Tokyo this Monday.

Read the website for all the background info (on the link above) but basically it seems to be an organisation asking people to slow down a bit in their hectic lifestyles and enjoy being alive for a change. I think it is a great idea and is certainly a philosophy I used to adhere to on my travels before Japan (five months on the same beach in Thailand anyone??).

Of course it comes from those masters of mastering life`s pleasures, the Italians, and of course I want to photograph the iconic face of the event in Tokyo when a fake Italian policemen will be issuing  jokey speeding tickets to the more manic of Tokyo commuters in Shibuya and Shinjuku that day. Unfortunately I`ll be working.

Busy.

Busy.

Busy.

Later

Damon

2 responses

  1. Andy

    Not sure what you mean but I still have a beard.
    I agree with slow living but must dash, I need to check on the moonshine in the allotment shed, then lean on a gate, chewing straw and watching the world go by

    March 5, 2009 at 8:46 pm

  2. HEy Damon

    Whats up??!!

    Do you have some info about time and place for this SLOW Downs event…..
    I will like to shoot it but cannot find any info on the web…

    thanks.

    March 7, 2009 at 2:49 pm

Leave a Reply

