The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

Arms, Legs, Feet and Hands

dcjj085413

dcjj085439

dcjj085468

As a lot of my shooting is done at night now I am trying something new: Now I might not have the steadiest hands in the world but rather than fix the low-light problems by ranking up the iso dial I thought I would, instead, just wallow in the blur and enjoy it. I`ve thrown some abstract ideas of intimacy (even anonymously) in there too; some subtle sex, some neon violence and just a smidgen of shadowy foreboding to see what it looks like. And to tell the truth I quite like it: the way the people are not quite people just arms, legs, hands and feet. Now this is very much a work in progress but tell me what you think.

Talking of arms legs feet and hands I had the very real pleasure of catching up with some great photographers last night over a few (too many) beers in Shinjuku. It had been a while since I was free on a weekend evening to mingle and mumble with my peers and Bruce Meyer and Adrian Storey better known as Uchijin are that rarest of things: talented snappers and generous talkers. To most street photographers our dreams for this profession are more Natchweyesque than our resumes. Due, in part, to the places we shoot being not that scary most of the time.

But my good friend, Gianni Giosue was also there and is, apart from being one of the nicest people you`ll ever meet he is also an inspirational photographer rapidly closing the gap between ambition and success. Having recently returned from Afghanistan, it was especially good to have him safely back here in Japan and hear his stories from that worrisome land.  The first of which can be seen here.

Kind of makes my hands feet and legs pics seem (if you`ll excuse the pun) pedestrian; because I have never been to a place were limbs could be so transient, where mutilation was just a matter of mad luck and pain and bravery was lived so intently and so often at an often young and otherwise innocent age.

Good work, take a look.

Got to go

Damon

5 responses

  1. Andy M

    I like, I like, I like

    November 17, 2008 at 11:00 pm

  2. Top shot is terrific. Such energy. Frenetic.

    November 22, 2008 at 9:49 am

  3. Just been tweaking some bits and pieces. I’ll be back to blogging within a few days. It has been a tough few months.

    I’ll read up on this blog tonight to see how things are going for you.

    Best,
    Paul Treacy

    November 22, 2008 at 9:51 am

  4. Thanks Paul, looking forward to your blog again. Thanks Andy, how could I not approve your comment? 🙂
    More to come later, obviously there is some luck involved with long shutter speeds like this but it is finding the subject and timing it just right that is hard.
    Damon

    November 22, 2008 at 11:19 pm

  5. Tomo

    These are great pics which represent Japan especialy in Shibuya or somewhrere in the heart of Tokyo.

    Tomo

    December 10, 2008 at 8:54 pm

Leave a Reply

