The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

Bang! Bang!

I love Taiko, or Japanese drumming it is something I`d like to learn to do one day when I have more time. On my first night here in Kanazawa I went up to Wajima on the Noto Peninsular to catch a special kind of masked Taiko called Gojinjo Taiko. A free performance is held every evening in the Wajima Cultural Centre at 8:30pm. And better yet, it`s FREE!!!

What better way to start this trip than this wonderful, scary, loud slice of in your face culture. Truely something you experience more than watch or listen too: the noise shocks and shakes you like an air strike yet at the end of it all you come out smiling.

I recommend.

Anyway enjoy the photo that I have, at last, been able to add.

Damon

2 responses

  1. Nice photo of the drummer. I’ve only seen this at Disney Worlds’ Epcot themepark. I’d imagine it’s much more intense in Japan since you are comparing it to an air strike! 🙂

    October 13, 2008 at 5:07 pm

  2. Thanks Scott!
    Taiko is amazing, when I say airstrike i mean that the sound vibrates through you, you feel the notes in your stomach, their intensity is viseral, the repetative beats knocking your mind sideways until thinking is impossible. It could be a torture and this particular Taiko is a war drum, played to scare and disorientate the enemy. great stuff.
    Damon

    October 17, 2008 at 12:55 am

Leave a Reply

