The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

Travel with children

Big thanks to my good (and eagle-eyed) friend Andy Miles for informing me that the pic above was used in Wednesday`s Times newspaper over in the UK. I don`t know the why and the wheres and how muches yet but checking the website came across this funny article by Giles Smith which is sort of related and well worth a read.

By the way, travel with children. I have done it a few times now and it is hard, very, very hard but I will never forget the excitement of getting an an aeroplane with my sons for the first time; or indeed the way thay make boring airports interesting: did you know you can do Superman flying impressions with hot air hand driers in the toilets? Well you do now!

Neither will I ever forget the look on my eldest son`s face the first time I gave him his own camera to take pictures with. I will never forget either how he went to bed cuddling the photo album of that trip for a month after and sometimes, even now, I wake up early and find him awake, sitting up in bed and gazing at the pictures, lost in memories that he loves us for giving him the opportunity to record in his own way.

So it`s worth it. But it is hard. Very, very hard.

Busy at the moment, more later.

Damon

5 responses

  1. Great shot. Is it Photoshopped or did it come out with those colors?

    August 8, 2008 at 1:37 pm

  2. No Andy, it came out like that: it`s slide film shot under artificial lighting indoors so you get a greenish cast but it worked well for the shot and I didn@t bother to try and remove it with photoshop.
    Damon

    August 8, 2008 at 1:58 pm

  3. I agree, nice shot! And I will be taking the little one to the U.K next year for the first time, but she’s a little to young for supergirl perhaps?

    August 9, 2008 at 4:53 am

  4. Andy

    The article accompanying your picture was based on the same story Giles Smith had written about (a family with 5 children leaving one behind). This piece suggested that travelling with 5 children was pretty mad but the fact that this family had managed to lose a child but not lose any of the eighteen (!!) suitcases they were travelling with, made them certifiable
    travel tip folks……pack light!

    August 11, 2008 at 9:47 am

  5. Delightful.

    August 12, 2008 at 7:24 pm

Leave a Reply

