The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

In them thar Hills

Back in Tokyo! Yes I know it wasn`t meant to happen but it did. it`s a long story and I am not exactly where I want to be but neither am in a place that is wholey unattractive to me. I have no money to go off exploring it though, having used it all to move to England and back so must find work to keep family happy…and well…alive. But all is not bad; I like a challenge and Japan is always that. And I like some of the other things about Japan too: I like having Mount Fuji visible at the top of my road, and I like the wonderful Mitama Matsuri that has arrived at the same time as my aeroplane to welcome me back, with my soon to be busy camera, this weekend. Indeed I like photographing in Japan mainly because no-one has made it difficult like England, at least not yet, and most of my friends here are really talented snappers so I get pushed and inspired daily. 

What I will miss about England though are, in no particular order:

Ice-cream vans, good newspapers, bad newspapers, pub gardens, cider, rhubarb crumble and custard, comedy, Burbage North crag, second hand book shops, summer evenings, Harrisons rocks campsite, climbing with friends, my friends, camping where there is nothing that wants to eat you, being outdoors generally.

You see Tokyo is an indoor sort of city. I am determined though to try and make some more time to get back in touch with nature and get out to some of the startlingly beautiful countryside that Japan has to offer. At least when I have some money saved up again. Until then I`ll enjoy a bit of vacarious wilderness over at Martin Hartley`s website. I don`t know Martin personally but he is a friend of a friend and that seems enough to talk about him in this small world of ours. With him the world is so very large and unexplored though and he makes great images of those places and people who are wilder and more rugged than most people can ever go or be but also generously shows the life of those for whom such faraway places are not only a adventure destination, but home.

Okay inspired now but talking of the outdoors…Japan is very hot and humid at the moment. Other things I like about Japan: Air con!

Damon

2 responses

  1. Tomo

    Welcome back, Damon.

    I would like to talk with you, having a cup of coffer or rather a pint of beer.

    please let me know.

    Tomo

    July 12, 2008 at 4:23 am

  2. S’pose this will make it easier to meet you for the first time sometime! Hope it will be sooner than later. Good luck getting things sorted!
    P.S, does this mean you want the baby car back?

    July 12, 2008 at 3:35 pm

Leave a Reply

