The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

From a bad bad place

Host club poster Kabukicho

Not been here a lot recently, sorry very busy as usual. Am actually spending a lot of time on the keyboard these days writing. I used to do that a lot: articles, poems, letters, etc. and I like it. Feels good to be working with my language again. Anyway, lots of editing others` words and proof-reading and most importantly writing the words for a photographer friend`s exhibition. I`ll tell you more about it closer to the time. The subject matter is…well…unusual and is something I knew nothing about until I started researching for the job. This fact is something my wife was very happy to know.

Bet you`re intrigued now!

But to get in the mood, find my “mojo” as it were for the wordsmith within I had a quick walk around Kabukicho the other night in the rain. This is Tokyo notorious redlight district and a fun place to see the seedier and stranger side of Tokyo life. My personal favourites are the host club posters (above).

Pretty boys with silly hair! Can`t understand why they are so popular.

Talk soon

Damon

5 responses

  1. Andy

    I thought the lad in the bottom left of the poster looked a bit like you from your long-haired alpine days!

    January 31, 2008 at 6:49 pm

  2. Dreadful hair entirely. Agreed. One day I’ll make it to Tokyo.
    Best,
    Paulyman

    February 4, 2008 at 12:21 am

  3. Thanks guys.
    Yes that does look like my earlier, hairy self Andy except the white jacket with the black shirt collar turned-up, I`d never, never, NEVER do that.
    Paulyman if you can make it here within the next two months you are more than welcome to crash, but I`m off after that (probably) to where the grass is greener. Isn`t it always?

    Talk soon
    Damon

    February 5, 2008 at 3:19 pm

  4. Andy

    It’s been a while, did you find your mojo? for writing……

    February 13, 2008 at 7:48 am

  5. Damon

    I don`t have internet at the moment so cannot write anything mate I sneaking a go on the computers in a hotel in Shinjuku at the moment. I have no idea what has happened and it will take Sachiko an age to get around to fixing it for me.
    Damon

    February 15, 2008 at 4:42 am

Leave a Reply

