The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

The digital divide

what the duck cartoon 

I`m out of film. been shooting a lot the last few weeks and I am empty. So here`s my dilemma. Been doing the maths on a twenty new rolls of Provia plus processing. Then  taking into account the cock-up rate (which basically means those pics I throw away) and it amounts to this…

I cannot afford photography unless I go digital. A second hand Canon EOS 20D goes for about 250 quid these days in Tokyo or 50,000 Yen. Slide images work out at about 50 Yen (20p) each. It`s not rocket science is it?

I want, I mean I really want, the EOS 5D because of the full frame sensor but the mark two has yet to appear and the current version is still some 300,000+ Yen. A little beyond my price range. But the 20D is quality camera to cross the digital divide with don`t you think? If all goes well I should be well and truely installed in the land of variable iso sometime next week.

Quite excited.

Damon

By the way for more great photography cartoon like the one above visit WhattheDuck.net

Leave a Reply

