The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

Face the press

I am hopefully heading off to the World Press Photo Award exhibition tomorrow in Ebisu. I went last year and was seriously inspired, the pictures are amazing.  I would love to enter it one day but I wonder where I can get such striking images of conflict.

The last battle I saw was at the Hamaorisai matsuri in Chigasaki on July 16th. This great festival takes place very early in the morning on a beach near this Kanagawa town when over thirty mikoshi or portable shrines are taken into the sea to bless them. But this year the typhoon that hit the day before had made the waves (according to the police anyway) dangerously big and very determinedly, and with a little bit of yellow rope, they stopped anyone going anywhere near the sea. Several of the mikoshi groups tried and challenged the police to see the festival tradition through to the sea! But tJapanese policemen have no sense of humour, as you can see in photo, and no-one wanted the festival cancelled next year so that was that…Maybe next year we`ll be luckier.

It`s that time of year again to get other competition entries together. I may not have much for something like the World Press Award but Wanderlust and if I get my skates on TPOTY are ones I like to enter. I`ve been a finalist all four times I`ve entered the Wanderlust comp and I hope I can make it again this year. I always seem to have not enough time for TPOTY however. I would like to enter it this year though because the first prize is a chance to meet and photograph none other than the Dalai Lama.

Talk to you later

Damon

9 responses

  1. Thanks for the info and links. Too bad I don’t have time to see the exhibition, because we’re leaving for the US in a couple days (we’ll be back). I’d love to see your “finalist” photos from the Wanderlust competition. I’ll try entering that one.

    July 30, 2007 at 1:05 am

  2. Have a good trip to the US Andy. Get going for the TPOTY, that`s the big one. Wanderlust is huge in the UK but you have to be an international subscriber to the magazine that runs it to enter. Or have a UK address. If you can swing that somehow you`re welcome. The last finalist photo is the old man infront of the lanterns at Yasukuni`s Mitama matsuri on my homepage. I was going to try and not enter a matsuri pic this year (as the last 3 have been matsuri) but what do know, one of the catogories is “festivals”.
    Later
    Damon

    July 30, 2007 at 3:59 am

  3. Andy

    Cheers for the heads up the the 2 comps. don’t forget the Kendal comp as well for what it’s worth

    August 1, 2007 at 6:35 pm

  4. I had no idea there were even this many competitions! Please let me know if there are any more!
    I have one for you too:

    http://www.bungeisha-va.co.jp/2007/photograph.html

    (japanese only)

    August 5, 2007 at 1:20 pm

  5. Thanks Nick, slightly inebriated tonight so will check the comp details tomorrow. Good to hear from you again.
    Damon

    August 5, 2007 at 2:46 pm

  6. Andy

    Here’s another comp for you

    http://www.dphotographer.co.uk/competitions.php

    August 19, 2007 at 1:58 pm

  7. Pingback: Silly season « sungypsyblog

  8. Pingback: Hamaorisai « sungypsy blog

  9. Pingback: Hamaorisai « sungypsy blog

Leave a Reply

