The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

Get by with a little help from your friends

Bad news today…I have to have an operation next week probably and I really hate hospitals and pain.

Good news today…got out taking photos in the “usual suspect” places of Shibuya and Shinjuku with my new mate Bruce Mayer.

Bruce is a photographer from New Zealand based in Japan and is working on a few projects in Tokyo. It was fun to see how he works; he shoots digital so his work load is different to mine because he shoots a lot.

He`s brave too. I took him to some of my haunts around Shinjuku and he took some good shots of people that I perhaps wouldn`t have pointed a camera at without asking.

It`s a different way of working to me but as I said in the post before perhaps I feel that I have more time, especially when I`m shooting for myself and can perhaps develop the relationship needed to get the shots over a period of weeks or even months and years. It`s different when I`m shooting for work however, I don`t have time to waste and get busy and business like. Though it gets the job done  must admit I remember less of day: I have a list of requirements and basically tick them off as I rush about from one to the next.

Today, in the rain with the unbrellas spinning around and the streets` colours swimming and mixing , the faces obscured and peeking and the politicians dripping on top of their vans, shouting above streets signs and dressed to shock schoolgirls it was great just to be out in it all. Quite memorable.

Will show you pics soon. Another advantage of digital is that Bruce`s images from today would be online by now if he had a website to link to that was!

The pic above is from another day of rain in Shinjuku. Hope you like it.

Take care

Damon

2 responses

  1. You are brave! I took one look at the volume of water descending from the skies yesterday and decided to spend the morning in bed. Shame really. I have found a perfect place that frames people carrying umbrellas beautifully.

    I hope the operation is not for anything too serious and that you recover soon!

    June 25, 2007 at 2:40 am

  2. Thanks Nick as for the operation not sure what is happening now, first doctor was wrong, second doesn`t know what is wrong so am having more tests. Me, I`m scared!
    Rain can make pretty pictures though.
    Damon

    June 25, 2007 at 5:37 am

Leave a Reply

