The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

Naked Tokyo

Now that title should get me a lot of unexpected hits. Sorry to disappoint you guys but it`s a photo exhibition called “Naked Tokyo“. It takes place at SuperDeluxe (Nishi Azabu). on the 14th May. Doors open at 6.30pm and close again at 12.00. Entrance fee is 1,000 Yen and it features work from some top range photographers both Japanese and foreign who are based in Japan; including Eikoh Hosoe and Daido Moriyama. Not me however! According to the website blurb some “shocking nudes” will be on display so will probably have to go along and see just for art`s sake of course.

Mind you what nude means in Japan is often not what we in the West mean. Photography wise it is probably the same but the gentleman above could be called a nude study in Japan. I met him when I was shooting pics for another job. He pointedly told be to leave his apartment building (which I had climbed for a better view of the street) and as tattoos are famously worn by members of Japan`s underworld Yakuza crime gangs I quickly obliged. Not before he had demanded a picture of me though which I took a little heavy on flash and surprisingly light on camera shake considering I was quite scared. Not that he was one of the bad guys though you understand because tattoos are also sported by the men who organise Japan`s colourful festivals or matsuri. But I didn`t have time to chat it over with him, I was busy and he looked like he was used to being obeyed so here is my only, to date, “naked Japan” picture. Now all I have to do is convince my wife that I need to take many many more pictures of naked women. Just for art`s sake of course…

Later

Damon

Leave a Reply

