The blog of Tokyo based photographer and photojournalist, Damon Coulter

Same same but different

Just arrived in Seoul Korea which is like Japan but different. They drive on the right for a start. The title is from a common phrase in Thailand, a place I love and I think I’m going to like Korea. My plan here is to get up to the DMZ and shoot some pictures. My time is limited and the tours with the USO have to be booked 4 days in advance and have a long list of rules. They even have a dress code! North Korea exploded a nuclear weapon last week and they are threatening to do the same tomorrow so I am not sure what the situation is there; especially for photography and whether I will get my pictures. I have a contigency plan to go to Pusan or Busan (they haven’t decided on the alphabet spelling yet) to photograph the fishwives cooking festival at the fish market there. But just looking out of the window of the bus from the airport showed that this is going to be an interesting trip. The streets of Seoul are colourful with neon including most particularly the many churches with their red crosses shining out into the night. It is slightly different to Japan’s neon madness however and that is going to make it fun to explore. I’m excited, there is lots to do here I think. I will let you know how the trip goes and look out for photos on www.damoncoulter.com in the next few weeks.

Take care Damon

2 responses

  1. tomo

    hi,Damon.

    It seems very clear from your latest writing that you are enjoying the trip. I wish I could go to Korea soon! I’m looking forward to seeing you 28th and listening to your stories. I hope you wiil have good time and take nice photos in the trip.

    Enjoy yourself

    Tomo

    October 19, 2006 at 10:36 am

  2. Hi Tomo san
    Thank you it is nice that you are keeping in touch this way. It is actually quite hard to take pictures here without the language to make connections with the people. I find it difficult to remember how to say even “hello” and “thank-you”. They don’t seem to like having a camera pointed at them either but will struggle on. Managed to get myself on a DMZ tour this Saturday. Last minute cancellation while I was in the USO office and I’m going. Will let you know how it goes.
    Damon

    October 19, 2006 at 1:38 pm

Leave a Reply

